How to create consistent art

Discuss your creative projects: game development, writing, film making or any thing else, fantasy related or otherwise! Talk about art you like, display your own artwork or stories, or offer help and insight.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Rasmus
Ee Master

How to create consistent art

Post by Rasmus »

If we disregard that I am not a great artist, I would still like to have some more consistency with my models / graphics etc.
This isn't a question on what I would have to do to become a better artist, but more a question on if there are any useful tips to keep the same style for lets say 1000:s of 3D models and artworks.
For me it would take at least a year of work to create that many models / artworks, and during that time I would change style as I become better or would prefere one style more than another. It almost seems like there have been several not very good artists working on the same game, when I only want it to look that there is one not very good artist at work :)

The question may be alittle bit blurry, but are there any good tips on how to decide what kind of style to use and keep with it with the same quality?
Ameena
Wordweaver, Murafu Maker

Re: How to create consistent art

Post by Ameena »

Umm...maybe it's just a matter of repeatedly drawing stuff till you find a style you're comfortable with. The thing with creative stuff is it's highly personal as to what works best for the individual. Something that might work well for one of us may be no use at all to someone else.
Ee Master

Post by Rasmus »

Yeah I know it is a blurry question, and I wouldn't really know how to answer it myself. So I elaborate it alittle bit more...

Sometimes I avoid mixing 2D and 3D graphics because I know that I always gets to diffrent, the same can be when only working with 3D objects like monsters, items and surroundings.
To take two examples how I usually handle these issues: