champion stats alteration

Discuss Chaos Strikes Back for Windows and Linux, an unofficial port of Chaos Strikes Back to PC by Paul Stevens, as well as CSBuild, an associated dungeon editor.

Moderator: Zyx

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Post Reply
User avatar
zoom
Grand Master
Posts: 1819
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 1:27 am
Location: far away but close enough

champion stats alteration

Post by zoom »

erm to make it short: I cannot create champions that aren't bogus and illegal;
I really want to know why.

It seems csbuild always hangs "CID" on each portrait text to a
portrait I create.??

This exceeds the maxium allowed portrait text, I think by 3.
however deleting this CID does not help much.

All I wanted to do, is to change the mana to ADOH (999).

I suspected it had to do with facing, but this is not the case.(N,E,S,W)
(if I copy and paste an existing text of a portrait into the
new portrait text this text works - but as soon as I change anything it breaks)
What should I do (apart from to not publicly claim to being able to edit portaits)?
User avatar
beowuuf
Archmastiff
Posts: 20687
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2000 2:00 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK

Post by beowuuf »

The text for portraits goes on the floor, so facing is not an issue. Is this a problem?

The text editor uses normal numbers, not hexidecial - this might also be an issue
User avatar
Paul Stevens
CSBwin Guru
Posts: 4319
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Post by Paul Stevens »

Code: Select all

void EditText::EncodePortraitDataIntoText(void)
{
  int i, j;
  m_text = m_name;
  m_text += '/';
  if (m_title.GetLength() > 19)
  {
    pDoc->Warning("Title has more than 19 characters");
  };
  m_text += m_title;
  m_text += "//";
  m_text += (m_male==0) ? 'M' : 'F';
  m_text += '/';
  Encode4(m_maxHP);
  Encode4(m_maxStamina);
  Encode4(m_maxMana);
  m_text += '/';
  for (j=0; j<=6; j++)
  {
    Encode2(m_attribute[j][0]);
  };
  m_text += '/';
  for (j=1; j<=4; j++)
  {
    for (i=1; i<=4; i++)
    {
      Encode1(m_attribute[j][i]);
    };
  };
  Encode1(m_attributePenalty);
  Encode1(m_basicStatPenalty);
  Encode1(m_randomPoints);
  Encode8(m_talents);
} 
Here is the code that encodes the character
data into a text string. It is
encoded in hexadecimal. There are three
extra characters at the end for penalties
and randomPoints. There are eight extra
characters for the talents.
User avatar
zoom
Grand Master
Posts: 1819
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 1:27 am
Location: far away but close enough

Post by zoom »

thanks for all the help. I have succeeded . EDIT
just noticed : it is try and error for me;
sometimes it works sometimes not. could I send the
dungeon.dat? I really don't know what I am doing wrong!?
I leave my initial message as is

When I use a text in the very wall of the mirror and then
copy paste that text into the spot before the mirror
(where it should go) it works..
somehow I have to change some stats when having
pasted that wall text on floor).. ( about 4 million luck and 4294893624 Health(you don't see the 4)
the second and third strength experience settings have no number(blank))
screenshot:
Image


Probably it has/had to do with the wine program(windows emulation under a very unstable ubuntu)

here is the text of the wall text (same place like picture frame)

Code: Select all

GOTHMOG


M
ADIECHAPADOH
FKFKFKFKFKFKFK
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACID
here of the bogus:(on floor in front of portrait frame)

Code: Select all

GOTHMOG/PIMPED UP//M/ADIECHAPADOH/FKFKFKFKFKFKFK/AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACID

Code: Select all

GOTHMOG /  //M/ADIECHAPADOH/FKFKFKFKFKFKFK/K  AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
the second and third strength experience settings had no number(blank)

finally the finished text:

Code: Select all

GOTHMOG /  //M/ADIECHAPADOH/FKFKFKFKFKFKFK/KAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
User avatar
Paul Stevens
CSBwin Guru
Posts: 4319
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Post by Paul Stevens »

Before we go too far----
get CSBuild306.zip fro:
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/CSBwin/

I see you have an old CSBuild that
does not know about talents.
User avatar
zoom
Grand Master
Posts: 1819
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 1:27 am
Location: far away but close enough

Post by zoom »

thanks. I really should make sure to use the latest csbuild...
I think the error was because the mana value
exceeded 900.

CSBuild306 restricts mana to 900 instead of
the previous version's cap at 999(suspect it was also just 900).
I entered 999 and got an error, the portrait which worked
had 99 mana.
Post Reply

Return to “Chaos Strikes Back for Windows & Linux (CSBWin) / CSBuild”