Monster Animations HELP!

Questions about how to create your own dungeons and replacement graphics and sounds.

Moderator: George Gilbert

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
ShaggyDowns
Apprentice

Monster Animations HELP!

Post by ShaggyDowns »

Greetings everyone,

I am new to RTC and very new to the forums. I have spent the last few days messing around with RTC and I wished I would of came across it years ago! I have a question about creating new animation for a monster's attack.

First off, I took the kobold images from EOB1 and put them into RTC. The kobolds have a 2 step process/animation for attacking. I figured out how to get the images in and create an attack animation using 2 seperate images. Problem is I can't keep the kobolds attack animation to stay in sync. I thought that the animation would run only when the kobold attacks, but it seems like it is constantly running even when they are not attacking.

Whenever the kobold attacks, the animation runs at whatever point it's currently on, instead of running the animation from the start. So, sometimes the kobolds attack in sync, but after a couple times, the animation starts falling out of sync. Other times when they attack it will start on the 2nd frame, instead of the first frame. Anyone have an idea how to fix this? It would be really cool to have a couple images for a monster's attack, instead of just using 1 images all the time.

Thanks in advance! :D

~SD~
Gambit37
Should eat more pies

Post by Gambit37 »

Unfortunately this is a current limitation of RTCs animation format. The animations are tied to the game clock which ticks six times every second and animation states are not remembered, so each time it plays it just carries on from where it left off. This is one reason why I decided not to bother with animation frames for monsters in my own project as it's simply not possible to get reliable results.