Page 1 of 3

A RTC Editor Written in JAVA.

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 9:55 am
by UNNAMED BONE
hi all,
I have created a RTC editor written in java.

here is download page:
http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~fis_junk/dm/RTCEditor.html

JRTC

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:10 am
by copperman
Wow, you made this with Java ? Although it's a little rough round the edges, you have certainly followed a nice design there, I like the "live" editing (not too many windows) And seeing as compiling cloned stuff isn't working in RTC atm the stuff you haven't done yet isn't too important. (I also believe we are in for a large dungeon format change soon anyway) What say you GG ? One point, could you make the map display scalable ?

Another is I got a crash when launching from the prescribed shortcut. I recommend simply assosiating .jar files with javaw.exe via Open With... in windows explorer (or whatever your file management system may be).

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:20 pm
by Paul Stevens
Very impressive.

I created a shortcut as follows:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\bin\javaw.exe" -jar "c:\downloads\RTCEditor-0_2_0\RTCEditor.jar"
And things worked perfectly smoothly.

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 5:41 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
Ka5pian wrote:
> One point, could you make the map display scalable ?

this version has just images of doors and flooritems ( i got them from GG Editor's screen shot ), so that i couldn't implement scalable display.

> Another is ...
thanks to your advice ( and thanks Paul )
i'm a neophyte in java programing then don't know how to clear runtime troubles...

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 5:55 pm
by copperman
@ UNNAMED BONE I may be able to help with images. I just recovered some old images from my A1200 I'll clean them up. They are generic tiles in the style of the CSB map. (btw I will be offering them to the public domain as Ka5pianware {do what you like with them just link back to www.teakka5pian.tk}) ;)

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 1:23 pm
by UNNAMED BONE

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:42 pm
by copperman
damn my eyes www.teamka5pian.tk

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:30 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
i have gotten RTC icon images today, and may release next version after a few days.

Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 10:00 am
by UNNAMED BONE
he version has been v0.2.1, this version uses large offscreen buffer.

http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~fis_junk/dm/RTCEditor.html

Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:40 pm
by copperman
Both this version and the last cannot open large layouts(200x200) the max size RTC supports. What is the max atm ?

Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:12 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
100x100.
This editor uses fix-sized offscreen buffer,
50% view buffer size is 1701x1701,
and 100% view buffer size is 3301x3301.
This way is easy and fast scrollable, but resource eater.
I'm modifying now.

Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:47 pm
by copperman
I also notice that after an error the editor WILL need restarting even though the GUI still calls the relevent functions. Another error will be produced by any further funtions, menu items etc...

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 11:32 am
by UNNAMED BONE
The version has been v0.2.2 and fixed 'Light Level' spinner bug.
It has tested few times.

http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~fis_junk/dm/RTCEditor.html

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:49 pm
by copperman
Splendid, all seems well, I haven't managed to "break" this version yet. I'm curious, how long have you been making this, it just appeared fully formed out of the bluie. :D

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 1:31 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
The version has been v0.2.3.

- Added whole map dialog for 'CLICK AND GO'

http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~fis_junk/dm/RTCEditor.html

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 5:15 pm
by copperman
Well, it's all still working fine, except one thing. You can now make levels too big. I think the editing area needs to be a maximum of 200x200. Will you eventually be adding graphics and cloning suppport along with champion creation/editing ?

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 5:49 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
My editor has no floor offset
(bacause I hate slippage between floors)
so that it has big fixed floor size (400x400)
(in saving layout shrinks and offset is calculated)
but it may be necessary to check floor limitation.

Then optional resourse editing will be added in some day...

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 5:53 pm
by copperman
Thats' cool, I guess people editing "know" about the limitations of RTC. I look forward to more content. And again well done on a magical job.

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:23 am
by UNNAMED BONE
I modified a bit. (resource editing has not been yet)

http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~fis_junk/dm/RTCEditor.html

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:07 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
"Clicking 'Wall Set' combobox in editing no dungeons" bug and "saving entrance and import after changes floor offset" bug have been fixed.
The version has been v0.2.5.

http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~fis_junk/dm/RTCEditor.html

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:40 pm
by andyboy_uk
I havent had a chance to check this out yet but it looks very impressive. I will have to get the Java Runtimes on my machine. Nice work Unnamed Bone :)

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:41 pm
by copperman
Looks like you have some competition for the first fully functional 3rd party ed here AndyBoy. UnNamedBone has certainly thrown down the gauntlet, and right out of the blue too.

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 4:20 pm
by andyboy_uk
Nothin wrong with a bit of friendly competition. It looks like a fine piece of work.

Admittedly I have been So busy latley I havent had time to look at ANY of the code I should be working on at the moment.

I did finish the item target property screen so that is getting there. I might have a chance to have a look at it again tonight.

I have a couple of annoying bugs to sort out as well though :(

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 6:19 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
Thanks andyboy, and I'm a pacifist, Ka5pian.
The last destination is to play dungeon master in more new dungeons,
and it's better that there are more ways to create new dungeons.

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 6:51 pm
by copperman
Quite so, I look forward to seeing more from both editors. Do you, UNNAMED BONE have any plans for "special" features in your editor, ie drawing tools etc ? I know andyboy has a couple of things he is adding to make life easier for the less experienced RTC dungeon master.

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 9:39 am
by Big-J-Q
Wow, great editor, congratulations! During my experimentations I discovered one bug: Everytime I save RTC-dungeon txt-file, it screws up the ATTRS and EXP_LEVELs of the initial party members.

All the ATTRS go to 1 and EXP to 0,0. Although I think it doesn't do it always. More experimenting needed. One thing about that EXP too. The editor now puts commas where dots are needed.

like "15,0,15,0,15,0,15,0", but it should "15.0,15.0,15.0,15.0".

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 2:19 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
Hi Big-J-Q,
this problem has not happened on my pc...

And Ka5pian,
I have some ideas for myself. ( I'm a novice yet )

BTW, is it no problem to use characters neither "0" nor "1" in layout section?

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 3:03 pm
by Big-J-Q
UNNAMED BONE wrote:Hi Big-J-Q,
this problem has not happened on my pc...
Yes, well it seems to depend on something whether it happens or not. I was just creating a small dungeon, and the party was saved okay.

Do you mean it doesn't screw up with commas? This has definitely happened to me everytime.

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 4:44 pm
by UNNAMED BONE
I have not seen it.
Java library class "java.text.DecimalFormat" formats like "15.0",
if it's not '.' but ',', you may have to update JRE,
I heard the class is buggy in old JRE.

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 5:43 pm
by beowuuf
Layout - interesting...anything non-0/1 (well, at least 9 and A so far) generates an invisible wall! Cool : )